The 60-second version
On 8 October 2026 the parent of the AI-agent product Manus said it had completed a large funding round led by China-nexus investors. The core fact is multi-outlet; the valuation and use of proceeds are not disclosed.

On 8 October 2026 Butterfly Effect, the parent of the AI-agent product Manus, announced a completed funding round of more than $500 million, co-led by Boyu Capital and IDG Capital with Tencent, HSG and ZhenFund participating. The round is corroborated by Reuters, CNBC, TechCrunch and others, but the widely repeated ~$4 billion valuation and the use of proceeds are company-silent.

On 8 October 2026 the parent of the AI-agent product Manus said it had completed a large funding round led by China-nexus investors. The core fact is multi-outlet; the valuation and use of proceeds are not disclosed.

Evidence labels used in this document (kept strictly separate):
INDEPENDENT EVIDENCE (example). The round amount and the four named investor groups are independently corroborated by Reuters, CNBC, TechCrunch, Nikkei Asia, AFP and SiliconANGLE — separate newsrooms that each sourced the company's 2026-10-08 announcement. That corroboration is what raises the core claim above a bare COMPANY CLAIM, while the company-only items (use of proceeds, valuation) remain COMPANY-SILENT/COMPANY CLAIM or REPORTED.
FACT. On Thursday 2026-10-08, Butterfly Effect, the parent company of the AI-agent product Manus, announced that it had completed a funding round of more than $500 million. The round was co-led by Boyu Capital and IDG Capital, with follow-on participation from existing investors Tencent, HSG (formerly Sequoia China) and ZhenFund, among others. The company announced the round through a post on WeChat. The fact of the round and the identity of the co-leads is corroborated by Reuters, CNBC, TechCrunch, Nikkei Asia, AFP, SiliconANGLE, TechNode and Yicai.
Important evidence caveats:
INTERPRETATION. This is a well-covered, multi-outlet business/funding event whose core fact (a >$500M round led by Boyu and IDG) is CONFIRMED across independent newsrooms, while its headline valuation and use of proceeds remain company-silent and are therefore weaker claims.
On 2026-10-08, Butterfly Effect announced via a WeChat post that it had completed a funding round of more than $500 million. Terms disclosed:
FACT. The round is Manus's first announced funding since China forced the unwind of Meta's acquisition of the company, and it follows the company's 2026-09-01 statement that it had "resumed independent operations". It also comes roughly ten days after Manus launched Manus 2.0 and the Cue personal-agent app (2026-09-28).
COMPANY CLAIM (post-announcement framing). Manus/Butterfly Effect said it "will continue hiring both at home and abroad", consistent with its stated intent to rebuild a China-facing product team alongside its overseas business.
REPORTED (independent, pre-round). In September 2026, Bloomberg and the Wall Street Journal reported that Butterfly Effect was in talks to raise about $500 million at a ~$4 billion valuation — roughly double the ~$2 billion Meta had agreed to pay. TechCrunch's 2026-09-18 write-up of the WSJ report also named potential investors IDG Capital, Boyu Capital, CATL (Contemporary Amperex Technology), Tencent, HSG and ZhenFund. The completed round's investor set matches the reported set closely, but the valuation was not confirmed.
NOT changed (be explicit): The announcement did not change the fundamental product, and did not resolve Manus's structural risks (regulatory exposure to both Beijing and Washington, reliance on third-party foundation models, uncertain durability of agent revenue). Money improves runway; it does not by itself prove product-market durability.

Before (Dec 2025 – Sep 2026):
Change (2026-10-08):
After (as of 2026-10-13):
The funding mechanism is a private, unlisted equity round — not an IPO, not debt, not a SPAC, and not a disclosed secondary with a published price.
Circle 1 = the directly involved teams/vendors (agent platform adopters, Manus users, adjacent agent startups).
Circle 2 = the wider AI industry (agent competitors, model providers, investors).
Circle 3 = enterprises, policymakers and the broader market.
Primary recommendation: hands-on product evaluation only, not a funding analysis exercise. A team considering Manus should run a scoped pilot (defined task set, measured cost/latency/accuracy, data-residency check, portability check) and specifically test Cascade's claimed efficiency under the team's own workloads, since the 23.2%/28.2%/32% figures are vendor-reported.
Not recommended: attempting to model the round's economics — the valuation and terms are undisclosed, so any spreadsheet would be speculation dressed as analysis.
See for the lab decision and the light source-concordance verification that was actually performed.
--
PREDICTION/INTERPRETATION. The most important thing about Manus's >$500M round is not the number — it is the shape of the story: a China-founded, Singapore-based agent company had a completed US acquisition torn out by Beijing, and then raised one of the year's largest agent rounds from predominantly China-nexus capital within months. That is a template, not an anomaly. It says the agent-execution layer is strategically valuable enough to fund independently of US ownership, and that the US–China split in AI is now a capital-flow phenomenon, not just a chip or model phenomenon.
At the same time, the reporting discipline matters: the headline valuation (~$4B) is reported, not confirmed; the use of proceeds is company-silent; and one report's "$20 billion" acquisition figure conflicts with the ~$2 billion everyone else reports. The confirmed core is narrow and solid: a >$500M round, co-led by Boyu Capital and IDG Capital, with Tencent, HSG and ZhenFund, announced on 2026-10-08. Everything beyond that is a claim to be tested.
For practitioners, the actionable read is: Manus is now a serious, non-US agent vendor to evaluate — with a pilot, portability safeguards, and a jurisdiction-aware risk register — not a valuation story to trade on.